Page 4 of 10

Posted: Fri 20. Apr 2007, 14:06
by JensZ
That was a joke, I know most users use IE, but it's just a pain in the a$$.

I haven't looked, but I'm normally very careful not to have any hardcoded paths in my code.

Jens

Posted: Fri 20. Apr 2007, 16:16
by fopulu
Ok, error messages has gone with

Code: Select all

$qcal["frontend"]["popupEvent"] = 2; // 0=do not show events on click; 1=HTML; 2=Ajax 
But the event were not listed yet.... what could I do? Any idea?

When I use your template I got the following in the frontend:
{DAY}. {TITLE}
Wann: {TIME}
Wo: {LOCATION}
Was: {DESCRIPTION}
Something happend, but the RT were not filled out.....

Posted: Fri 20. Apr 2007, 19:24
by DeXXus
JensZ wrote:The problem is not apparent to me. I'm not sure it has to do with escaped characters since then Firefox would vomit too.
I did not try to imply that those unescaped quotes were the problem with EVENTS not being shown. He asked what the cause of them was (in IE) and so I edited the rendered source (of his calendar page) to correct for IE's errors (by escaping correctly). Those changes cleared up the JAVASCRIPT errors from being reported .;-) Then, pointing out their origin was simply meant for fopulu to understand (or attempt to correct) them.

BTW, one -important- thing to understand is that ALL the browsers are capable of handling SOME unusual syntax or coding issues... as long as they are -not- TOO MAJOR and allow for continuation of the browser rendering engine.

ALSO, one -benefit- of FireFox (Mozilla) is that it "fixes" some issues -ON THE FLY- like changing, adding, removing or ignoring certain tags THAT it encounters problems with. This behavior can be -observed- in some of the browser extensions and addons for FF.

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 09:03
by Paradroid
fopulu wrote:Ok, error messages has gone with

Code: Select all

$qcal["frontend"]["popupEvent"] = 2; // 0=do not show events on click; 1=HTML; 2=Ajax 
But the event were not listed yet.... what could I do? Any idea?

When I use your template I got the following in the frontend:
{DAY}. {TITLE}
Wann: {TIME}
Wo: {LOCATION}
Was: {DESCRIPTION}
Something happend, but the RT were not filled out.....
I have the same behaviour, any solutions ?

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 09:06
by fopulu
It's very complex to install this QCal and got it running..... I know, but meanwhile it works for me....

Have you installed CMS in the root?

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 09:14
by Paradroid
fopulu wrote:
Have you installed CMS in the root?
Yes, I did

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 09:53
by fopulu
Ok.

Have a look at the templates. Not all template files are present in the folder. Look at the conf.inc.php and verify the entries for the templates with the ones in the folder.

You need at least 2 templates for the frontend.
One with {MONTH} (the calender) and {EVENTS}, and the other one like your wishes with {DAY} and so on. This template only works, when {EVENTS} is set in the firtst template I think.

For me the events listing only works well, when I used {QCAL:0:de:xxx.tmpl}

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 13:44
by Paradroid
Hi,

I tried this one :

{QCAL:Kalender1:de:default.cal.tmpl:de.frontend.event.tmpl}

Kalender1 is the name of the calendar I want to be displayed. these two templates exist but still i get no events to show up. In the backend, everything works fine.
:cry:

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 13:52
by JensZ
Hi,

What's Kalender1? You'll need to put the ID of the calendar, it should be a numeric value, probably 1.

Why don't you just start from the simplest case having only {QCAL} reptag? When you see that you have a working calendar you can experiment with {QCAL:1} and {QCAL:1:de} and with templates {QCAL:1:de:maintemplate:eventtemplate}.

good luck,

Jens

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 13:52
by fopulu
First: Kalender1 is wrong!
There you have to place the Calendar-ID! E.g. 0,1 or 2

Is {EVENTS} placed in the first template?

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 13:59
by JensZ
Yeah, the main template can contain two reptags {MONTH} and {EVENTS}. MONTH is substituted for the calendar itself and EVENTS is substituted for the event list using the event list template. The default event template is specified in conf.inc.php:

Code: Select all

$qcal["defaults"]["event_template"] = "frontend.event.tmpl";  // NOTE: the language code will be appended to the front, e.g. en.frontend.event.tmpl
Please note the comment that the lang code will be appended to the front. I don't know if this is also true if you have specified an event template in the reptag. In that case that is a bug!!

The event list template can contain the following reptags:

{TITLE} - title of the event
{DAY} - day number
{CATEGORY} - category name, i.e calendar name
{CATEGORYID} - category id
{TIME} - time of event
{LOCATION} - location of event
{DESCRIPTION}
{MONTHNAME}
{DATE:Y-m-d} - date according to formatting

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 14:21
by Paradroid
Ok guys,

I tried {QCAL}, that shows the calendar but no events.

Changing the ID to 1 selects alle events with category-id 1. Great ;-)

{QCAL:1}, {QCAL:1:de} show the calendar with category=1 but no events.

Then I tried :

{QCAL:1:de:default.cal.tmpl:de.frontend.event.tmpl} same behaviour.

default.cal.tmpl only has {MONTH} in it. The default templates

Here ist my conf.inc.php (excerpt)

Code: Select all

	// default settings
	$qcal["defaults"]["backend_lang"] = "de";	// ISO 639 language code backend. Will be overriden by user setting, if exists.
	$qcal["defaults"]["frontend_lang"] = "de";	// ISO 639 language code used frontend. Can be overriden by reptag.  
	$qcal["defaults"]["date_format"] = "dd.m.Y";	// Default date format used. Please see PHP documentation (date() function)
	$qcal["defaults"]["first_weekday"] = 1; 	// 0=sunday 1=monday
	$qcal["defaults"]["calendar"] = 0;			// default calendar id  0=all
	$qcal["defaults"]["template"] = "default.cal.tmpl";	// Default frontend calendar template
	$qcal["defaults"]["event_template"] = "frontend.event.tmpl";  // NOTE: the language code will be appended to the front, e.g. en.frontend.event.tmpl
	$qcal["defaults"]["backend_template"] = "backend.cal.tmpl";	// Default backend calendar template
	$qcal["defaults"]["backend_event_template"] = "backend.event.tmpl"; // NOTE: the language code will be appended to the front, e.g. en.backend.event.tmpl
	$qcal["defaults"]["css"] = "qcalendar";		// Main css class
	$qcal["defaults"]["show_all_categories"] = true; // set true if you want to be able to show all categories from the dropdown list

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 14:36
by JensZ
So it works as expected!

Without the {EVENTS} tag in your template (default.cal.tmpl) you will not see any events!

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 14:40
by fopulu
my words.... :roll:

but, it takes a long time to find out without any script..... :wink:

Posted: Fri 4. May 2007, 14:50
by JensZ
Agreed!

We're writing the documentation right now ;)

JZ